Department’s staff

Research group of minor forms

Name E-mail Position; field of research City Phone no.
Anneli Baran anneli@folklore.ee Researcher; Estonian phrases, phraseology Tartu 737 7743
Arvo Krikmann kriku@folklore.ee Senior researcher; Balto-Finnic proverbs, riddles, phrases, jokelore Tartu 7420 079
Piret Voolaid piret@folklore.ee Researcher; riddle periphery, school lore Tartu 737 7742
Asta Õim asta.oim@gmail.com Senior researcher; phraseology Tallinn 644 4650
Katre Õim katre@voore.pri.ee Senior researcher; Estonian phrases, phraseology Tallinn 644 4650

Research group of Estonian folk religion

Name E-mail Position; field of research City Phone no.
Tõnno Jonuks tonno@folklore.ee Researcher; Scandinavian sagas, prehistoric religion, Radar project Tartu 7377 744
Andres Kuperjanov cps@folklore.ee Researcher; ethnoastronomy, tree lore, web lore Tartu 737 7740
Nikolai Kuznetsov kolja@folklore.ee Researcher; project holder at ‘Multilingual Portal of Komi Culture’; Komi language and culture Tartu 737 7741
Mare Kõiva mare@folklore.ee Head of the Dept. of Folkloristics; senior researcher; incantations and media, folk religion, contemporary folklore, folk healers Tartu 737 7740

Research group of narrative research

Name E-mail Position; field of research City Phone no.
Reet Hiiemäe reet@folklore.ee Researcher; plague legends, contemporary folklore (currently on maternity leave) Tartu 737 7745
Mare Kalda kalda@folklore.ee Researcher; treasure lore Tartu 737 7741
Eda Kalmre eda@folklore.ee Senior researcher; contemporary legends, commonplace book verses Tartu 737 7741
Katre Kikas katreki@folklore.ee Assistant; legends, identity Tartu 737 7741
Liisi Laineste liisi@folklore.ee Senior researcher; contemporary humour, jokelore Tartu 737 7744

Media group

Name E-mail Position; field of research City Phone no.
Salle Kajak salle@folklore.ee Assistant; legends Tartu 737 7745
Eva-Kait Kärblane evakait@folklore.ee Assistant; legends, e-journals Tartu 737 7745
Asta Niinemets asta@folklore.ee Editor; publications Tartu 737 7709
Liisa Vesik liisa@folklore.ee Department secretary, web lore Tartu 737 7740

Special projects

Name E-mail Position; field of research City Phone no.
Jaan Sudak jaansudak@folklore.ee Kihnu rahvausund Tartu 737 7742

Researchers Emeritus

Name E-mail Position; field of research City Phone no.
Helen Hanni helenh@folklore.ee Assistant; Radar project Tartu 7377 744
Pille Kippar piki@tlu.ee Folktales, oral history, folk calendar Tallinn 652 2634
Hilja Kokamägi Runo songs, oral history 3725170627
Luule Krikmann kriku@folklore.ee language editor Tartu 737 7744
Maris Kuperjanov maris@folklore.ee Multimedia editor; design & layout; publications, web lore Tartu 737 7709
Ruth Mirov piretjogis@hot.ee Kalevala-metric folksongs, relations of literature and folklore, older singing games Tallinn 677 7884
Kristi Salve kristi@folklore.ee Senior researcher; folklore and folk religion of Balto-Finnic peoples (Livonian, Vepsian, Estonian), spiritual verse, fairy tales Tartu 737 7746
Rein Saukas rein@folklore.ee Editor; Balto-Finnic proverbs, riddles, jokelore Tartu 737 7742
Ülo Tedre Masking traditions, history of folklore studies Tallinn 652 2983